Online Education & CME Requirements for License Renewal : Mandatory Controlled Substances Prescribing CME Course

Register Now

UM Physicians who are members through FMA Corporate Membership program: $25.00
All Other: $75.00
Credit Availability: October 5, 2018 – October 1, 2021
Credit Hours: 2 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™.

This course fulfills the Prescribing Controlled Substances education requirement for Florida licensed physicians.

General Information

It is no secret that Florida is currently in the grip of a severe opioid crisis. According to a 2017 report by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, opioids were identified as either the cause of death or were present in the decedent’s system in 5,725 cases in 2016. That’s 1,483 more than 2015. There have been indications that opioid overdoses claim at least 16 Florida residents per day. On March 19, 2018, Gov. Rick Scott signed bill HB 21 into law which includes a variety of measures to combat the crisis. Among other things, the bill states that each person registered with the United States Drug Enforcement Administration and authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall complete a board-approved two-hour continuing education (CE) course on prescribing controlled substances. The Florida Medical Association (FMA) is authorized by HB 21 to provide this two-hour mandatory requirement for MDs and DOs. Although only DEA-registered prescribers of controlled substances are actually required to complete this training every two years, all physicians are welcome to complete this course. All CME credit earned will be reported to CE Broker. HB 21 requires prescribers to complete this course for the first time no later than January 31, 2019 and then for each subsequent renewal thereafter.

Applying for Continuing Medical Education (CME) Credit:

  • Read and review the entire document in full or in parts until completed.
  • Reflect on the current and best practices discussed and how the information may change your own current practices.
  • Use the practice cases to challenge your understanding of the new Florida laws or clinical practice guidelines
  • Complete the knowledge assessment/post-test (must earn a passing score of at least 73%) and evaluation. For incorrect responses on the post-test, revisit areas of the document to strengthen your understanding of the question.

The Division of Continuing Medical Education will issue a certificate of participation upon successful completion of the post-test and registration process.